Main content

The impressive contributions of a talented array of healthcare technology experts, innovators, clinicians, patient safety champions, young professionals and students were recognized during the AAMI 2018 Conference & Expo in Long Beach, California, last month.

AAMI President and CEO Robert Jensen offered his congratulations to everyone who won an AAMI award or scholarship.

“Being able to recognize the best and the brightest in healthcare technology is an honor and, honestly, one of the highlights of AAMI’s year,” Jensen said. “This year’s award and scholarship recipients have demonstrated exemplary passion and dedication to helping make healthcare technology safer and more effective. It’s our pleasure to offer our thanks for all of the incredible work they have done and all that they continue to do to elevate and grow the field.”

The 2018 AAMI award winners were:

  • Lauren C. Thompson, PhD, director of the Department of Defense/Department of Veterans Affairs Interagency Program Office, who received the AAMI Foundation’s Laufman-Greatbatch Award.
  • The late Robert M.S. Dickinson, owner, consultant, and trainer at Fairmed, who was honored with the AAMI Foundation & Institute for Technology in Health Care’s Clinical Solution Award.
  • A multidisciplinary team from Beebe Healthcare, which serves Sussex County in southern Delaware, and RENOVO Solutions, which received the AAMI Foundation & Institute for Technology in Health Care’s Clinical Solution Award.
  • Frank Overdyk, MSEE, MD, professor of anesthesiology, who won AAMI & Becton Dickinson’s Patient Safety Award.
  • Jennifer Jackson, director of connectivity at Masimo, who received AAMI’s HTM Leadership Award.
  • J. Scot Mackeil, CBET, senior anesthesia biomedical engineer at Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston, who was named AAMI & GE Healthcare’s BMET of the Year.
  • Clarice Holden, chief biomedical engineer at the VA North Texas Healthcare System, who received AAMI’s Young Professional Award.
  • David Giarracco, vice president of global market development at Medtronic, who was honored with the Spirit of AAMI Award.
  • The California Medical Instrumentation Association (CMIA), which was named AAMI’s HTM Association of the Year.

The AAMI Foundation scholarship winners, each of whom was awarded $3,000, were:

  • Kahkashan Afrin, who is earning a PhD in industrial and systems engineering at Texas A&M University in College Station, Texas.
  • Montana Rae Delk, who is studying healthcare engineering technology management at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis in Indiana.
  • Benjamin Hebel, who is studying biomedical engineering technology at Northwestern Michigan College in Traverse City, Michigan.
  • Alexis Henry, who is earning a master’s degree in biomedical/clinical engineering at the University of Connecticut in Storrs, Connecticut.
  • Bradley Klauss, who is studying biomedical equipment technology at Penn State University in State College, Pennsylvania.
  • Christopher Moreau, who is earning a master’s degree in engineering/healthcare engineering at Texas Tech University in Lubbock, Texas.
  • Baily Williams, who is studying biomedical electronics at Western Technical College in La Crosse, Wisconsin.

More information about the AAMI awards program and this year’s winners is available at

Back to News

CMIA Member Login

Join the CMIA Email List

Please click the box to confirm you agree to receive email messages from CMIA.

You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the link in the footer of our emails. For information about our privacy practices, please visit our privacy policy.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.